Up until now, eight implementing protocols as well as the Dispute Settlement Protocol have been adopted<sup>39</sup>. They cover the following areas: regional planning, soil conservation, protection of nature and the countryside, mountain farming, mountain forests, tourism and recreation, energy and transport. To a major part, they have been signed by the contracting parties, but their ratification is still lacking<sup>40</sup>. Compared to the twelve areas mentioned in Article 2(2) AC, protocols concerning population and culture, prevention of air pollution, water management, and waste management are still missing.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>39</sup> The Monaco Protocol has not been included in this listing because it does not constitute a real implementing protocol in the sense of Article 2 (3) AC. It allowed Monaco, which was not present at the <sup>st</sup> Alpine Conference, to join on 22 March 1999.
<sup>40</sup> Only Austria, Germany and Liechtenstein have ratified all protocols.